The Durham Bulls are celebrating Merge Records tonight; here’s the starting lineup’s walk-up music

It’s well-known around these parts the Boston Red Sox have one of the coolest in-house DJs in Fenway Park’s TJ Connelly, but a minor league team 700 miles south is also going to sound pretty good at the ballpark tonight.

The Durham Bulls, the Triple-A affiliate of the AL East rival Tampa Bay Rays, will tonight host Merge Records Night, pairing promotions with the North Carolina-based indie label and even giving the starting nine matching songs as their individual walk-up music.

Leadoff man Joey Rickard will step into the box to Superchunk’s “FOH,” shortstop Nick Franklin (acquired by the Rays in last year’s David Price trade) will come up to the Mountain Goats’ “The Legend Of Chavo Guerrero,” and 2011 first round pick Mikie Mahtook will hit to Destroyer’s “Dream Lover.”

This is one of the coolest minor league promotions since… well, since the Bulls and Merge teamed up back in June of last year. As if anyone needed any more incentive, we’re also told it’s $1 hot dog night as well.


In addition to the at-bat songs, curated by Stuart McLamb, frontman of Merge artist the Love Language, fans who purchase an $8.99 specialty ticket will get a limited-edition CD of all the at-bat songs. “The CD’s artwork, a collaborative project between the team and label’s design departments, features the DBAP’s famous Snorting Bull,” reads the presser.

McLamb will also perform the National Anthem prior to the game against the Norfolk Tides.

Check out the full Merge x Durham Bulls sampler track listing below, as well as the starting lineup rundown via the Bulls’ twitter. If you’re not in the North Carolina area, click the links to hear each featured song…

Merge x Durham Bulls CD Samplet Playlist, August 13
Will Butler “Anna”
The Mountain Goats “The Legend of Chavo Guerrero”
Waxahatchee “Under a Rock”
Destroyer “Dream Lover”
Mikal Cronin “Made My Mind Up”
Mac McCaughan “Lost Again”
Twerps “Back to You”
Hiss Golden Messenger “Saturday’s Song”
Reigning Sound “Falling Rain”
Superchunk “FOH”
Ex Hex “How You Got That Girl”
Titus Andronicus “Dimed Out”
Mike Krol “This Is The News”
Spider Bags “Japanese Vacation”
Caribou “Can’t Do Without You”