Post Coexist: The xx announce new album I See You, listen to punchy single ‘On Hold’

After releasing a series of online teases that felt like they’d go on forever, the xx have finally returned with proper new music for us to digest. The British electronic-pop group have revealed that their third album, titled I See You, will be out on January 13, 2017, and the LP’s first single is a punchy number out today called “On Hold.”

Listen to it below via YouTube.

“We realize these are uncertain times,” the xx write on Facebook, “and we hope the joy and love we found making the record will find its way out into the world, in however small a way.” They add that the new record arrives “after many years, close together, far apart, great highs, deep lows, heartache and healing…”

I See You is the xx’s long-awaited follow up to 2012’s Coexist, and was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in various locations around the world, including New York, Reykjavik, Los Angeles, London, and the Texas desert city of Marfa.

The xx – I See You:
1. “2Dangerous”
2. “Say Something Loving”
3. “Lips”
4. “2A Violent Noise”
5. “Performance”
6. “2Replica”
7. “Brave For You”
8. “On Hold”
9. “I Dare You”
10. “Test Me”


Featured photo by Jamie-James Medina.