Pearl Jam, Tupac, Journey, Electric Light Orchestra, Joan Baez, and Yes inducted to Rock Hall

The Rock And Roll Hall of Fame will add six new inductees across a spectrum of genres in 2017.

Pearl Jam, Tupac Shakur, Journey, Electric Light Orchestra, Joan Baez, and Yes, have been announced as the class of 2017, according to Billboard. All but Yes are first-time eligible on the ballot. Also at the spring ceremony, Chic’s Nile Rodgers will receive an Award for Musical Excellence.

The 32nd Rock Hall induction goes down April 7 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn. It will be aired live on SiriusXM radio and filmed for a later broadcast on HBO.

A special exhibit featuring all the inductees will open at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame And Museum in Cleveland on March 30.

“I never considered myself to be a rock and roll artist,” says Baez, who got her musical start in Cambridge and recently had the city declare October 8 as Joan Baez Day. “But as part of the folk music boom which contributed to and influenced the rock revolution of the ’60s, I am proud that some of the songs I sang made their way into the rock lexicon. I very much appreciate this honor and acknowledgement by the Hall of Fame.”

Among the notable omissions on this year’s ballot include Boston’s the Cars and J. Geils Band, as well as Depeche Mode, Bad Brains, Jane’s Addiction, and the Zombies.